this year, i went back to the first option, just to see it its do-able. alhamdulillah, it was. as i was looking at scenarios, i got a good offer for hotel and theme park tickets. then came the airline offer - still cost the same as it did last year.
so we booked the hotel, booked the theme park tickets and booked the flight tickets. it was amira's first flight, it was a theme park visit after so long, it was a family holiday after staying put for a year, so we're pretty excited. the boys didn't know of course, it could turn our excitement into despair with their countdown and 'when when when' queries, so we opted not to tell them.
i packed the day before while they were at football training. it was simple. so easy to pack for 6, amira slightly more difficult as i had to bring so many 'just in case's and so many towels and blankets as she must use her own. we'll be taking the morning flight out and reaching the hotel at lunchtime, chances are the room will not be ready yet, so i've planned for us to spend the after at the watermark. so i've kept our swimming clothes and towels in a smaller bag in our suitcase so that we can grab it once we've checked in.
we drove to the airport quite early on sunday morning. the boys still didn't know. the suspected but they didn't know. usually we would take a cab to the airport, so driving there confused them a bit. they thought we were sending hubby on one of his many football trips. when we parked, they were confused. when we took out amira's stroller, they were confused. when we queued to drop the bag, they were not believing our story anymore.
they still didn't know where we were going, though. they were just happy to be on a plane. time passed by quite fast, actually. we had a quick breakfast at mcdonald's, we passed through security, took a slow walk to the gate and still had around 20 minutes waiting time before we were called to board. the flight was short and sweet. the boys complained about no shows to watch. amira was like a pro flier, pretty relaxed and easy going.
when we got to senai, however, we couldn't locate amira's stroller. it was a hoo-haa trying to find it - the staff at the door said it'll be at the gate, from the gate it'll be at the luggage carousel. we couldn't find it there and confirmed that it was still at klia gate and wasn't put on the aircraft. we lodged a report and wanted it to be sent to the hotel asap!
then it was looking for a car for rent. limited counters were opened being a weekend. most had no cars in stock being a weekend and a school holiday. we took a taxi to the hotel. the boys slept. only asyraf was awake. and that was enough. as we drove up to the hotel, he was screaming so loud it woke everyone else. then it was four boys screaming and dancing and hi-fiving each other on the steps of legoland hotel. excited much?
we checked in, a bit tedious than usual. i wanted to grab the small bag containing our swimwear and head straight to the waterpark but hubby wanted to settle the stroller issue and he wanted to settle the car rental issue. the stroller was still mia at kila, no one knew where it was - we found out later that it wasn't tagged hence nobody put it onboard. and surprise, surprise, we got a good car for rent. he tried calling one of the car rental counters at the airport and a staff who was on leave, answered saying they had one car in hand.
however it would take a fairly long time before we can have it was he would needed to drive up to the hotel, we needed to send him back to the airport and then we can drive the car to the hotel. ok fine…we can sacrifice a couple of hours at the waterpark (sobs). so that's what we did…waited for him at the hotel, round up the troop for a drive to the airport, got the car and drove back to the hotel, stopping for lunch along the way.
so at 4pm, 2 hours before the it was to close, we finally entered legoland waterpark. we parked the car, changed in the car, hubby got our 2-day park tickets at the counter and spent 2 wet hours, cooling down ourselves after a hectic morning and lunch time. the boys had loads of fun. it looked crowded but there was hardly any queue and the boys managed to go onto all the rides from the small slides to the big tall ones while akmal, amira and i waited at the wave pool. we got to go around the lazy river twice and spent a long time at joker soaker playground. unfortunately, we had no pictures at the waterpark. a bummer because i would have liked some photos of amira at her first waterpark.
we went out as they closed the rides. we could have gone on for an hour or two, it was really very cooling and relaxing. we walked (and dried) to the hotel and waited while hubby got the key. we finally got to the room and the boys ooh-ed and ahh-ed throughout. the lobby of the hotel was great, they had legos everywhere. the lift was uplifting with lights and sounds - amira was fascinated by the lights. the room was great. the boys had their own section and a bunk bed with a pull-out mattress, a tv, treasure hunt game and goodies, they even had their lower sink and toiletries in the bathroom.
we freshen up, changed our clothes and drove out for dinner. it was a bit late and we were a bit tired so we stopped by an area we passed by on the way from the airport. we could have gone a bit further but we were knackered. we had a quick dinner, got some snacks and made our way back to the hotel. it was only a 10-minutes drive so we were back in the room by 9pm. the boys slept really early that night, everyone was super tired from a very eventful day.













0 comments:
Post a Comment